AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES TASK FORCE MEMBERSHIP BALANCE PLAN

- 1. Name. Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force
- **2. Authority.** The Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) Task Force was established by Congress with the passage of the Nonindigenous Aquatic Nuisance Prevention and Control Act (NANPCA) in 1990 and reauthorized with the passage of the National Invasive Species Act (NISA) in 1996 (collectively, the Act).
- **3. Mission/Function.** As stated in the Act, the role of the ANS Task Force is to develop and implement a Federal ANS program for waters in the United States that:
 - Prevents the introduction and dispersal of ANS;
 - Monitors, controls, and studies such species;
 - Conducts research on methods to monitor, manage, control, and eradicate such species;
 - Coordinates ANS programs and activities of ANS Task Force members and affected State agencies; and
 - Educates and informs the general public and program stakeholders about the prevention, management, and control of these species.
- **4. Points of View:** The ANS Task Force has a national infrastructure and is the only legislatively mandated intergovernmental organization solely dedicated to preventing and controlling ANS. The Act directs the Director of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere to serve as co-chairpersons of the ANS Task Force. The Act also designates the following Federal officials as members of the ANS Task Force: 1) Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 2) Commandant of the United States Coast Guard, 3) Assistant Secretary of the Army for Civil Works, 4) Secretary of Agriculture, 5) the Director of the National Park Service, 6) the Director of the Bureau of Land Management, 7) the Commissioner of the Bureau of Reclamation, and 8) the head of any other Federal agency deemed appropriate.

The Act also directs the co-chairs to invite representatives of the 1) Great Lakes Commission, 2) Lake Champlain Basin Program, 3) Chesapeake Bay Program, 4) San Francisco Bay-Delta Estuary Program, and State agencies and other governmental entities.

The ANS Task Force is currently composed of 13 Federal and 12 non-Federal members. Member organizations span from the east coast to the west coast, and include the Great Lakes and Gulf Coast regions, and a diverse array of Federal, State, and Tribal government organizations.

- **5. Other Balance Factors**. The co-chairs ensure geographical diversity when appointing new members. In addition, functional representation is considered for membership. Those who would like to become new members may submit a request to the ANS Task Force co-chairs.
- **6. Candidate Identification Process:** As previously stated, nine Federal agencies and four ex-officio organizations are legislatively mandated and their terms are, therefore, unlimited in duration. Federal and ex-officio members not legislatively mandated by the Act need to be periodically reappointed. Beyond the Federal and ex-officio members that are specifically cited in the Act, both geographic and functional aspects of potential members are considered before they are invited to participate by the cochairs.
- 7. Subcommittee Balance. Not applicable.

- **8. Other.** No additional information.
- **9**. **Date Prepared:** February 26, 2024; reviewed for accuracy September 24, 2024.
- **10. Name of Preparer.** Susan Pasko, 703-358-2466, susan_pasko@fws.gov